Search Unity

Making an RTS style game work

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by eelbaz, Jul 26, 2015.

1. eelbaz

eelbaz

Hi everyone.

I'm extremely new to networking in general and was wondering how I could implement the following on UNET.

The local player sends a command to the server which spawns a unit (for example). I'd like to implement one of the following if possible:
    1. That player should be able to control it and send commands through a network behavior script on that game object. I can't find a way of giving a particular player authority over a game object over the network.
    2. Or, at least be able to easily register hooks on components within that game object after the server spawns it.
    If 2, how do I get notified on the client when a particular game object (with a reference to it) is spawned?

Also, would there be an easy way to check that the local player trying to control a unit is the 'owner' of it.

2. eelbaz

eelbaz

3. Glabrezu

Glabrezu

If you're new, your best bet would be to start with Photon. UNet doesn't have much in terms of working examples, has no guides, etc.

4. Stardog

Stardog

An RTS game should be simple enough.

Everything non-local has to be done through the server/host. To control a spawned object you don't have authority over, you have to run a Command from a behaviour you do have authority over. You can't run functions on an unowned "Spawned" object, even if they are Commands, I believe.

To check if you have control of something, get its NetworkIdentity component and check "localPlayerAuthority".

Code (CSharp):
    1. void Update()
    2. {
    3.     if (!isLocalPlayer) return;
    5.     if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
    6.         CmdSpawnBuilding();
    7. }
    9. [Command]
    10. void CmdSpawnBuilding()
    11. {
    12.     GameObject instance = (GameObject)Instantiate(buildingGO);
    14.     NetworkServer.Spawn(instance);