Search Unity

Making a UI Canvas appear when a trigger is entered? {SOLVED}

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by milliehashh, Nov 24, 2015.

1. milliehashh

milliehashh

Hey, im pretty much new to C# scripting and i have to make a small game for class, im hoping to have a canvas appear containing text and buttons when you get a certain distance away from NPCs - i was wondering if there is an easy function or few lines of code that i could use to make a canvas appear when a trigger is entered?

Thanks in advance for any help! :)

2. passerbycmc

passerbycmc

have the canvas start off as not enabled.

grab reference to the canvas gameObject in your script that has the trigger, than OnTriggerEnter run .SetActive(true) on the canvas, than OnTriggerExit run .SetActive(false) on the canvas

3. milliehashh

milliehashh

sorry, im pretty new to C# so im not sure what to do, what do you mean by grab reference to the canvas gameObject?

4. DarkBladeNemo

DarkBladeNemo

I think what he means by is doing something like this.

Code (CSharp):
    1. Public Canvas myCanvas; //Your target for the refference
    3. Void OnTriggerEnter(collider :Collider){
    4. myCanvas.enabled = true;
    5. }
    7. Void OnTriggerExit(){
    8. myCanvas.enabled = false;
    9. }
    11. //If you want to be more specific to what gets enabled and store it all in one script you can check tags
    13. Void OnTriggerEnter(collider :Collider){
    14.      if (collider.tag =="NPCName"){
    15.            myCanvas.enabled = true;
    16.      }
    17. }
    That would be more or less how I would do it.

Last edited: Nov 24, 2015
  5. milliehashh

milliehashh

hey, sorry about this, im getting this error:
    Assets/conversationtrigger.cs(6,30): error CS1519: Unexpected symbol `myCanvas' in class, struct, or interface member declaration

i know its probably caused by something silly like a missing semi-colon but im not sure what it is :( thank you for all the help!!

6. milliehashh

milliehashh