Search Unity

Making a game with no custom art :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jdraper3, Feb 5, 2016.

?

Is it ok for a game to use 100% licensed art assets?

1. I wouldn't take that game seriously.

8 vote(s)
    16.0%
  2. I might play it, but it wouldn't seem as good to me.

2 vote(s)
    4.0%
  3. As long as it's a great game, I don't care!

40 vote(s)
    80.0%
  1. jdraper3

jdraper3

SO... I'm a programmer - not an artist. I can't draw a straight line to save my life. Last time I tried to model something in 3d, it honestly looked like a 2 year old made something out of legos.

When I decided to make my first game, I knew there was no chance of me being able to do anything other than modify other people's art assets. I can work in photoshop to customize a texture, I can modify a model in blender to tweak things, but that's about the extent of it. My "concept art" looks like a child's drawing on the fridge - and that's on a good day. :)

Anyway, I've come to terms with the fact that my game will basically be made out of 3rd party art assets with modifications. And I've bought a lot of them. Tons and tons of the best quality, PBR stuff I could find. And I think that my game looks great so far, but I can't shake the feeling that even though I've put hundreds and hundreds (and more hundreds!) of hours into programming my game systems and gameplay over the past year, it still ends up being (visually anyway) something that isn't mine. This is a pretty large scale third person story driven action/adventure game that is going for a very realistic look, so anyone that knows the asset store would probably recognize some things.