Search Unity

Ludum Dare 32 - Telefragger

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by TwiiK, Apr 18, 2015.

1. TwiiK

TwiiK

As some of you may know Ludum Dare 32 is currently happening and it's my first time participating. I want to at least try and keep a work in progress thread going here.

This is how far I've gotten at the moment:

http://twiik.net/unity/ludum-dare-32-telefragger

The theme this time is "An unconventional weapon". When I first saw the theme I was bit frustrated because I had some great ideas for the other themes and I felt like this theme would just result in a lot of shooter games where you just shoot weird things instead of bullets.

I didn't want to make a shooter game so this is a game inspired by telefragging in Doom. It will be a puzzle game or a blend of action and puzzle. It's all work in progress and I'm trying hard to keep the number of features to a minimum. :p

The story so far is that you are the “The telefragger”. Your weapon is a teleporter which you use to teleport inside your target to blow them up. Your teleporter is also your primary means of transportation.

I will focus on polish for the next update. I don't like going further with things unless I know what I have is working properly. Which is perhaps different from how a lot of other people approach game development.

If all goes according to plan I will have the core game ready today and I can use sunday for just producing some interesting levels.

Flamingo321 and GarBenjamin like this.
  2. TwiiK

TwiiK

Now we got some actual characters... sort of. I hate myself for deciding to rig and animate characters rather than just keep the boxes or something similar. I am probably the worst at it and I absolutely hate it. Probably spent 4 hours or so making what you see there. My rig kept blowing up so in the end I decided to more or less animate without one. My rig has no bones now.

There's a puzzle as well now. Although it is unsolvable for the time being. :p