Search Unity

Looking for high-level overview of what shaders can do and what I should research

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Martin_H, Aug 28, 2015.

1. Martin_H

Martin_H

Hi, I'm very new to shader programming and I'm looking for a high-level overview of what can be done with shaders (and what kind of shaders ) to give me a better understanding of what can be achieved and how I can approach concrete problems.

One of the usecases I was wondering about is something like this (please zoom to 100% size):

Let's say I have an isometric view on a city and buildings are (partly) obscuring a player controlled mech and enemy vehicles in the streets. How could I make the buildings transparent with a blurred and dithered mask of the player mech and how could I draw colored and transparent silhouettes or outlines of enemies wherever they are covered by a building?

And how (if at all) could I modify the standard pbr shader to output 1 or 2 more "buffers" (is that what those are called?) of data (e.g. surface temperature information defined by a texture) that can be accessed and processed in fullscreen post effect shaders to render things light heat distortion over hot objects or a thermal nightvision effect.

I do realize that those are probably all very advanced topics that may or may not be possible at all. I'm a little lost on where I should start reading and what to google to get a grasp on those things.