Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[SOLVED] Logic button system : Composition VS Heritance/Interface

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Kamalen, Jan 28, 2015.

1. Kamalen

Kamalen

Hi,

I am quite new to Unity and encounter some troubles with the good practice regarding code organisation. I am using C#.

I want to make some kind of logical trigger scene, with for example one button able to activate a door, a trap or whatever. I want this system to be complex, with the use of And/Or functions.

Coming from the OOP world, my first clue would be to use some ITriggerable with a Trigger() method - the interface way. However, it's not possible to use interfaces in the Unity Inspector.

Plus, I've read in some topics it's better in Unity to use composition ; making a Trigger component with a boolean "Active", and making the other components check for the bool state to react. That seems slowed, as the object will react only on the next Update.

I can't make my mind on the topic, and I need more pro and cons from the more experienced.

Thanks by advance for your help !

2. Kamalen

Kamalen

No one has a clue ? A resource on the topic ?

3. TonyLi

TonyLi

Hi, and welcome to Unity! Use SendMessage. SendMessage uses reflection. For efficiency, you shouldn't call it multiple times per frame (e.g., multiple calls in the Update method). But it's ideal for general triggering, and it's a great way to keep your scripts decoupled and to use composition.

First add a script that handles the button click, something like this:
    Code (csharp):
    1. public class TriggerOnClick : MonoBehaviour {
    3.     void OnClick() {
    4.         SendMessage("HandleTrigger"); // Send message when button is clicked.
    5.     }
    6. }
    Then add one or more scripts that handle the message:
    Code (csharp):