Search Unity

Learning how to be a Game Artist - Advice?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JasonBricco, Oct 28, 2014.

1. JasonBricco

JasonBricco

So, I'm a programmer, and my friend is interested in becoming a game artist. And together we want to make games.

Both of us are quite new to the fields. I have gone through books online, courses, and of course I've done a lot of practicing. In short, I'm finding my way when it comes to learning how to program and make games. Still much to learn, but I kind of know how to go about it. Lots of practice. Take some courses here and there, read some books, but mostly lots of practice.

My friend, on the other hand, isn't too sure how to go about becoming a skilled game artist. He isn't interested in going to college for it; rather, would like to learn it himself. Given there's a vast amount of resources online, that shouldn't be such a hard task.

But he doesn't know how to go about it, and I don't either. He's got photoshop, he's got blender (which I think we'll stick with since it's all we can afford at this point). And I'd think practice is the way to go, but this isn't working out so well. He doesn't really have a sense of direction, is quite disorganized, etc. Doesn't know what to practice with, doesn't really know what to do.

So... how would you go about accomplishing such a thing? Should he take some courses he can find? Read some books? What should he be practicing? What skills does he need to develop?

Advice would be much appreciated!

2. Moosetaco

Moosetaco

First question I would ask: Try to think of your friend as a coworker/employee and not a friend - Is he someone you can trust and depend on with carrying his own weight? Just by the brief description you've given us I would immediately say no.