Search Unity

I've got the game in a dll and want to use Unity for the GUI, how?

Discussion in '2D' started by DesNord, May 21, 2016.

1. DesNord

DesNord

Hi
    I've got the code for the game in a dll. I've come so far that I've connected it to a script and gained response in the console, so it works so far. But I can't find out how to display any graphics. If I understand it correctly I must do this within the script connected to the dll, where all the info is.
    1) How do I load my graphics from within the script?
    2) How do I draw the sprite?

I'm an experienced programmer, but I'm completely new to Unity and I am so excited to learn more.

The game is 2D and will be like looking down on a map.

I first started to do the GUI in Windows XNA and I had the basics in an hour, but I felt Unity was a better choice. Still I am frustrated to not have any visuals up and running yet.

I'm grateful for any help.

Last edited: May 22, 2016
  2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Need more information. Is this game text only or what? unity typically is best for rendering everything, it's not suited to overlay kind of stuff.

3. DesNord

DesNord

No, it is not a text game. I need to draw sprites, but the info about where and what to draw are found in the dll - like tile 0,0: ground, explored - so based on what I've understood I need to create them in code and not create them in Unity's editor. I've found out how to create a sprite but I've not been able to find out how to:
    1) load my own graphics within the script file that creates the object from the dll
    2) draw a sprite within the script file that creates the object from the dll

I know the connection to the dll works since I wrote text from it into the console, but I want a graphic interface of course. All I get is the standard view with a blue sky and a grey ground. My game is gridbased and will be seen as a map from above.

Have I provided the information you needed?

4. DesNord

DesNord