Search Unity

I've been using Unity for 6 years. First time working with a funded, talented team! - Ant Simulator

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by eteeski, Sep 2, 2015.

1. eteeski

eteeski

Ant Simulator - Coming to Steam & PS4

Hey everyone! I wanted to share some progress on our game, Ant Simulator!

I've made a lot of games in Unity, but until now, they've all been small hobbyist type games that weren't very impressive. Recently, I've had the opportunity to be apart of what turned into a HUGE project!

It all started with a game-jam game. I made some simple graphics and a basic world to walk around it. I threw some antenna on the screen and called it Ant Simulator! I was proud of my work, but I didn't see it as anything more than a little artsy web browser experience.

But then people started to notice... The game blew up overnight on youtube! Today we have found over 250 videos of people playing the Ant Simulator game-jam prototype. Something about living the life of an ant really captured the imagination of nearly everyone! It soon was a no brainer... Let's make Ant Simulator a full game!

Now I wasn't alone. Our team grew in members. We now have people on our team dedicated to handling the business and finance side of our company. Soon we were working with 3D artists from all over the world; Colombia, South Africa, North America. Soon I found myself working with a full sized team as passionate about this game as I am. This game has felt so much more serious than other games I've worked on. This is the most official video game project I've had the honor to be a part of in my game dev career.

It's a really great feeling, I've been learning and working for so long to achieve a strange and abstract goal. After working on this project for nearly a year so far, I feel like an actual game developer haha

Early development preview of some gameplay:

Showing off lighting and player movement:

About the game: