Search Unity

Is the "State Machine" pattern suitable for every game genre?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by alexshultz, Sep 3, 2015.

1. alexshultz

alexshultz

I'm rather new to Unity and game development as a whole, but I have been coding for many years, mainly in C++ or C#.

I've created many "minigames" to get a grasp on Unity, and I'm really beginning to understand it quite well. I am starting a new game, it will be an open world RPG for mobile (think World of Warcraft/Runescape). One thing that I've really been researching is design patterns, since this will be a huge game. I find following design patterns to be good in the long run - I have many applications written in WPF that follow the MVVM pattern and they are so easy to maintain, and I want to be able to achieve the same thing in Unity.

One design pattern that pops up a lot is the "state machine" design pattern. I just want to know if this design pattern would be well suited for my game type, or if it's limited in certain aspects? As I understand it, I would have a different game state for things like quests, combat, skilling, etc.

Are there other design patterns that might suit my game better that I can look into? Or is this a fairly flexible and easy to maintain pattern that other developers have had experience with?

Thank you very much!

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

State machines are very commonly used. Especially to manage overall game state, and in speciality areas like AI and animation.

That said not every problem in Game Design can be reduced to a simple state machine.

lordofduct and alexshultz like this.
  3. lordofduct

lordofduct

Yeah, state machines are super common.

AI is often done as a state machine (there's other methods as well though... like behaviour trees).