Search Unity

Is it possible to use CEF3 (Chromium Embedded Framework) in a unity windows project?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by dansav, Oct 14, 2015.

1. dansav

dansav

Is it possible to use CEF3 (Chromimum Embedded Framework) to display a browser in unity for a windows standalone project?

I have been using unity since 2008, but my knowledge of plugins and native code is practically zero. Before I start I first I wanted to ask if it's even feasible. There are examples of how to build CEF3 for simple C++ programs and I am going through the tutorials here https://bitbucket.org/chromiumembedded/cef/wiki/Tutorial There is also a project called cefsharp which is supposed to be a .net wrapper for CEF3.

I am confused as to whether this would be a managed or native plugin given the resources available.
    I would greatly appreciate any help or advice or tutorials that could help me get started.

2. lordofduct

lordofduct

Well, looking at the cefsharp porject page, it says at the top it is a:

WPF and Win Forms are windows specific, and aren't available in Unity.

With that said, there could be a way to integrate such a thing into Unity. If it's supported by Win Forms, which uses DirectDraw to render bitmaps generated in software with its component controls, this means the cefsharp could be repurposed to draw to a Texture2D instead, and than display that somewhere.

But this is FAR from trivial.

Furthermore, with that said, cefsharp is just .Net bindings to the C++ program that is actually running. So really, I'd just forego that and bind to it directly with Mono instead of consuming the bloat of cefsharp. But it's still not trivial.

3. dansav

dansav

I'm looking for something more feasible. What about working with something like this
    https://wiki.qt.io/QtWebEngine
    I'm currently using uwebkit in unity which was made with qtwebkit -- qtwebengine is the upgrade, qtwebkit has problems with some websites.