Search Unity

Is it possible to load a HDR Texture at run-time in Unity and convert it to a texture?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Ben-BearFish, May 18, 2015.

  1. Ben-BearFish

    Ben-BearFish

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,204
    I was interested in loading a HDR image (.exr or .hdr format) at run-time in Unity and was wondering if it was possible, and if so how to do it?

    I assume I'd load it from the Resource or StreamingAssets folder, but after that I'm not sure how'd I convert it to something Unity could use.

    My idea was to have a folder that can update/change the HDR image it has and then load those new HDR images at run-time.
     
  2. Ben-BearFish

    Ben-BearFish

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,204
    Any thoughts?
     
  3. ThomasCreate

    ThomasCreate

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Posts:
    81
    Unity can load in HDR images by default; just load them as cubemaps.
     
  4. Ben-BearFish

    Ben-BearFish

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,204
    My emphasis was at run-time (Standalone Build), not just in the editor. But I guess based on what you said, I suppose I could load a resource from the Resource or StreamingAssets folder, and typecast it to a Cubemap. I was wondering if there was an alternative texture type that can use HDR in Unity besides Cubemaps.

    For instance, could I load an HDR on a normal Texture2D in my scene in Unity at run-time (Standalone Build)?
     
  5. ThomasCreate

    ThomasCreate

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Posts:
    81
    I reckon you most likely can - what's stopping you from trying? :D
     
  6. Ben-BearFish

    Ben-BearFish

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Posts:
    1,204
    Ok, looks like my next step is to figure out how to convert a Texture to a HDR in Unity at run-time (Standalone Build).
     
  7. rob_ice

    rob_ice

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Posts:
    112
    Did you have any success with this? We are finding the HDR image values get clamped or altered and the hdri colour changes completely when we assign a newly created hdri at runtime.
     
  8. Caronte3D

    Caronte3D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Posts:
    43
    Still no way to save and load 64bits textures to a standard image format at runtime?