Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

iOS crash after applying patch p3 (unity 5)

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by aparraga, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. aparraga

    aparraga

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    I have an EXC_BAD_ACCESS after applying the p3 (I have no errors before p3)

    After executing in debug console a bt all, I got this guy:

    (lldb) bt all

    * thread #1: tid = 0xec60d, 0x01e1f558 colors`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetBuffer at DataBuffersGLES.h:37, queue = 'com.apple.main-thread', stop reason = EXC_BAD_ACCESS (code=1, address=0x4)

    * frame #0: 0x01e1f558 colors`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetBuffer at DataBuffersGLES.h:37

    frame #1: 0x01e1f558 colors`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetGLName at BuffersGLES.h:160

    frame #2: 0x01e1f558 colors`SetVertexStateGLES + 408 at VertexDeclarationGLES.cpp:139

    frame #3: 0x01e10024 colors`DrawBuffers + 84 at GfxDeviceGLES.cpp:1508

    frame #4: 0x01f67214 colors`DrawMeshBuffersRaw + 200 at DrawUtil.cpp:36

    frame #5: 0x01f521e4 colors`RenderMultipleMeshes + 2444 at BatchRendering.cpp:402

    frame #6: 0x01e893c0 colors`Flush + 132 at BatchRenderer.cpp:104

    frame #7: 0x01e89ef8 colors`PerformRendering + 2008 at ForwardShaderRenderLoop.cpp:588

    frame #8: 0x01e8af98 colors`DoForwardShaderRenderLoop + 2212 at ForwardShaderRenderLoop.cpp:1183

    frame #9: 0x01e99324 colors`DoRenderLoop + 1392 at RenderLoopPrivate.cpp:429

    frame #10: 0x01ea0478 colors`DoRender + 152 at Camera.cpp:1175

    frame #11: 0x01ea0c58 colors`Render + 528 at Camera.cpp:1833

    frame #12: 0x01ed48ec colors`RenderCameras + 324 at RenderManager.cpp:111

    frame #13: 0x01ff9bd0 colors`PlayerRender + 156 at Player.cpp:1488

    frame #14: 0x01ffa714 colors`PlayerLoop + 2344 at Player.cpp:1988

    frame #15: 0x01db49c4 colors`UnityPlayerLoopImpl + 20 at LibEntryPoint.mm:214

    frame #16: 0x000f6790 colors`UnityRepaint + 172 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:218

    frame #17: 0x000f66dc colors`-[UnityAppController(self=0x14d83cc0, _cmd=0x02befe34) repaint] + 152 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:67

    frame #18: 0x000f6564 colors`__51-[UnityAppController(.block_descriptor=<unavailable>) repaintDisplayLink]_block_invoke + 108 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:52

    frame #19: 0x0606b172 libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_call_block_and_release + 10

    frame #20: 0x0606b15e libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_client_callout + 22

    frame #21: 0x0606ee44 libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_main_queue_callback_4CF + 1512

    frame #22: 0x24ba1618 CoreFoundation`__CFRUNLOOP_IS_SERVICING_THE_MAIN_DISPATCH_QUEUE__ + 8

    frame #23: 0x24b9fd18 CoreFoundation`__CFRunLoopRun + 1512

    frame #24: 0x24aed3b0 CoreFoundation`CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 476

    frame #25: 0x24aed1c2 CoreFoundation`CFRunLoopRunInMode + 106

    frame #26: 0x2c11a200 GraphicsServices`GSEventRunModal + 136

    frame #27: 0x2815743c UIKit`UIApplicationMain + 1440

    frame #28: 0x000e5f24 colors`main(argc=1, argv=0x05e00a80) + 244 at main.mm:40

    ---------

    Could you please tell me what´s wrong this time? Thank you
     
  2. bbodocs

    bbodocs

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Same here.
    Disabling Dynamic Batch temporary fixes this problem.
     
  3. DziDAI

    DziDAI

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    I wrote about this bug, but I cant create a repro project! And Yes Disable DynamicBatching solve this bug!!

    If you can create a repro project, and create bug report and write it here!

    I think this helps @Alexey to fix it, asap!
     
  4. aparraga

    aparraga

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    I have disabled the dynamicBatching and I still have the same issue :( :( :(

    In GetBuffer
    0xac11d8: ldr r1, [r0, #4] <-------- EXC_BAD_ACCESS

    What can I also do to avoid this error? (this is sooooooo frustrating, any new unity release comes with a new-bugs-bonus)

    (lldb) bt all

    * thread #1: tid = 0x9e09, 0x00ac11d8 colors`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetBuffer at DataBuffersGLES.h:37, queue = 'com.apple.main-thread', stop reason = EXC_BAD_ACCESS (code=1, address=0x4)

    * frame #0: 0x00ac11d8 colors`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetBuffer at DataBuffersGLES.h:37

    frame #1: 0x00ac11d8 colors`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetGLName at BuffersGLES.h:160

    frame #2: 0x00ac11d8 colors`SetVertexStateGLES + 408 at VertexDeclarationGLES.cpp:139

    frame #3: 0x00ab1b7c colors`DrawBuffers + 84 at GfxDeviceGLES.cpp:1508

    frame #4: 0x00bda184 colors`DrawMeshBuffersRaw + 200 at DrawUtil.cpp:36

    frame #5: 0x00bc6618 colors`RenderMultipleMeshes + 2444 at BatchRendering.cpp:402

    frame #6: 0x00b295b8 colors`Flush + 132 at BatchRenderer.cpp:104

    frame #7: 0x00b2a0e8 colors`PerformRendering + 2008 at ForwardShaderRenderLoop.cpp:588

    frame #8: 0x00b2b188 colors`DoForwardShaderRenderLoop + 2212 at ForwardShaderRenderLoop.cpp:1183

    frame #9: 0x00b39514 colors`DoRenderLoop + 1392 at RenderLoopPrivate.cpp:429

    frame #10: 0x00b40598 colors`DoRender + 152 at Camera.cpp:1175

    frame #11: 0x00b40d78 colors`Render + 528 at Camera.cpp:1833

    frame #12: 0x00b6a934 colors`RenderCameras + 324 at RenderManager.cpp:111

    frame #13: 0x00c595e0 colors`PlayerRender + 156 at Player.cpp:1488

    frame #14: 0x00c5a124 colors`PlayerLoop + 2344 at Player.cpp:1988

    frame #15: 0x00a5676c colors`UnityPlayerLoopImpl + 20 at LibEntryPoint.mm:214

    frame #16: 0x00062378 colors`UnityRepaint + 172 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:218

    frame #17: 0x000622c4 colors`-[UnityAppController(self=0x16d99020, _cmd=0x0166b064) repaint] + 152 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:67

    frame #18: 0x0006214c colors`__51-[UnityAppController(.block_descriptor=<unavailable>) repaintDisplayLink]_block_invoke + 108 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:52

    frame #19: 0x02e03172 libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_call_block_and_release + 10

    frame #20: 0x02e0315e libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_client_callout + 22

    frame #21: 0x02e06e44 libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_main_queue_callback_4CF + 1512

    frame #22: 0x24f57618 CoreFoundation`__CFRUNLOOP_IS_SERVICING_THE_MAIN_DISPATCH_QUEUE__ + 8

    frame #23: 0x24f55d18 CoreFoundation`__CFRunLoopRun + 1512

    frame #24: 0x24ea33b0 CoreFoundation`CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 476

    frame #25: 0x24ea31c2 CoreFoundation`CFRunLoopRunInMode + 106

    frame #26: 0x2c4d0200 GraphicsServices`GSEventRunModal + 136

    frame #27: 0x2850d43c UIKit`UIApplicationMain + 1440

    frame #28: 0x00055104 colors`main(argc=1, argv=0x02b98a80) + 244 at main.mm:40
     
  5. radimoto

    radimoto

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    257
    I'm getting this exact some bug on my project using GLES 3.0. Disabling dynamic batching does not fix it.
    If I switch Graphics API to Automatic (which uses Metal on my iPhone 6) I get the following different crash:

    Compilation succeeded with:

    <program source>:87:46: warning: equality comparison with extraneous parentheses
    if ((_mtl_u.glstate_matrix_projection[3].w == 0.0)) {
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~^~~~~~
    <program source>:87:46: note: remove extraneous parentheses around the comparison to silence this warning
    if ((_mtl_u.glstate_matrix_projection[3].w == 0.0)) {
    ~ ^ ~
    <program source>:87:46: note: use '=' to turn this equality comparison into an assignment
    if ((_mtl_u.glstate_matrix_projection[3].w == 0.0)) {
    ^~
    =

    #include <metal_stdlib>

    using namespace metal;

    ..... lots more here, not posting to keep this short...

    }

    /SourceCache/AcceleratorKit/AcceleratorKit-14.10/Framework/MTLVertexDescriptor.mm:633: failed assertion `Vertex attribute at index 0 references a buffer at index 1 that has no stride.'
     
  6. aparraga

    aparraga

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    My bug happens with an iPhone 5 (OpenGL 2.0)
     
  7. aparraga

    aparraga

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    I have discovered something interesting. I'm using the DynamicText plugin. If I remove the usage of that plugin in prefabs that are instantiated dynamically, the error is fixed. So, the problem is with the plugin itself. Maybe Unity should be more verbose in editor mode to alert about potential issues with compilation for iOS...

    Anyway, I'm going to research to determine the root cause of the problem in my side.

    Thank you anyway
    Antonio
     
  8. GilCat

    GilCat

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Posts:
    676
    Hello
    I also have this problem only applying any of the patches for Unity 5.
    Tried disabling dynamic batching with no success. The only way to make it work was reducing the amount of rendered objects in the scene.
     
  9. aparraga

    aparraga

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Posts:
    20
  10. gshape

    gshape

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Posts:
    104
    Same problem happened since upgrading to Unity 5. I have just submitted a bug report few minutes with re-produce project which is on 5.0.0p3. Waiting for confirmation email and track number.

    P.S. I found that is not related the amount of rendered objects but some meshes (even the simple cube) may crash the iOS build (and I found it is quite random).

    P.S.2 Spawning a problematic mesh may not crash the build, spawning plus moving it does crash the build.

    P.S.3. Turning dynamic batching does solve the problem but obviously this is not a good solution.
     
  11. manny003

    manny003

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    Adding my voice to this issue. When Unity 5 was first released to the public, everything was fine. But from since patch 1 through 3, by iOS build would always crash at the same place:

    I have a custom sprite sheet animation that uses UV coordinate manipulation on a runtime created quad, as opposed to TextureOffsets, and has always worked perfectly without any issue. Then suddenly from 5.0.0p1 through 5.0.0p3 it crashes with the same errors as above (i.e. EXC_BAD_ACCESS (code=1, address=0x4)).

    Following the advice on this topic, I disabled Dynamic Batching and the issue went away. Clearly this is not a viable workaround but I will continue to truck on with other coding and hope that this will get fixed soon.

    Some other interesting findings -- this only happens when the Open ES GL 2.0 or 3.0 is used. Does NOT happen when the Metal Graphics API is used. I have other issues with Metal and still need to support Open GL for older devices so not using Open GL is also not a viable option.

    Manny

    UPDATE: Related? Also found this Issue Tracking entry: http://issuetracker.unity3d.com/iss...attributes-causes-a-crash-on-dynamic-batching

    UPDATE: Yup! Missing Vertex colors was definitely my issue. I adapted the code sample found at this link: https://docs.unity3d.com/es/current/ScriptReference/Mesh-colors.html and added vertex color white during run time in my script, re-enabled Dynamic Batching and the issue went away! Now if I could only get the last two weeks back ...
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2015
  12. DziDAI

    DziDAI

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    Hey @manny003!

    How you find objects with "missing vertex colors"?
     
  13. manny003

    manny003

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    I didn't. Simply based on where I knew my code was crashing, and on what gameObject that was being brought to life at that moment, I surmised that it had something to do with that mesh and so added the code of that gameObject's script Awake event to add the vertex colors to that mesh and it worked.

    I had the added benefit of knowing everything about my meshes as I created them all myself in Blender and knew that I had no vertex colors set for them. But for my specific case, above, it was a simple quad mesh that was created during run time and so I knew, for certain, based on the code that there were no vertex colors so I just added them.

    After my initial fix (above), I encountered the crash again -- but on a different gameObject and repeated by code workaround process.

    Hopefully, it will get patched soon.

    Until then, EVERYONE GO VOTE on the issue I linked to above -- maybe that will light a fire under it to make sure it gets addressed sooner rather than later.
     
  14. pahe

    pahe

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    543
    Someone already tested this with 5.0.1? I've got crashes there too, but I'm not sure if they are related to the batching. This time it crashes for me on dis- and enabled batching :/
     
  15. radimoto

    radimoto

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    257
    5.0.1 does not fix the issue for me. Crashes whether I use dynamic batching or not.
     
  16. twiesner

    twiesner

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Posts:
    309
    Dido on 5.0.1. Not working and still see crashing. Been crashing since patch 1.
     
  17. manny003

    manny003

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    It looks like the 5.0.1 release just locks down and finalizes the fixes in the p3 patch and not a new patch on top of that.

    Feels like a mean April Fools joke.
     
  18. radimoto

    radimoto

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    257
    I've created the attached Editor script that will search through all GameObjects (including children). If it finds a mesh without vertex colors it will set the Mesh Vertex Colors to white.

    To run it over your scene drop the script into Assets/Editor and then use Custom > Find Meshes missing Vertex Colors

    This found many meshes in my scenes that were missing Vertex Colors. Unfortunately I'm still getting EXC_BAD_ACCESS. When building to GLES 3.0 I get EXC_BAD_ACCESS within GetBuffer, after SetVertexStateGLES. Building to Metal fails with SIGABRT within GetBuffer with the following error:

    /SourceCache/AcceleratorKit/AcceleratorKit-14.10/Framework/MTLVertexDescriptor.mm:633: failed assertion `Vertex attribute at index 0 references a buffer at index 1 that has no stride.'

    Disabling Dynamic Batching doesn't fix it.

    Building to IOS simply doesn't work. :(
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 3, 2015
  19. kreso

    kreso

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    145
    I have same problem:

    SetVertexStateGLES + 472 at VertexDeclarationGLES.cpp:50
    EXC_BAD_ACCESS
    No suggestions on this thread helped me run my game on iPhone 5.
    I guess we need to raise our voices and just be heard by Unity so they can look into this.

    I'm using Unity 5.01 Pro, on a Mac.

    Game I have been working on almost 1 year is being beta tested (almost finished). I was excited to move to Unity 5, but now I can't make a build :(
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2015
  20. manny003

    manny003

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    Just happened to me again. This time using the built in Unity primitive Quad mesh and the "Mobile/Transparent/Vertex Color" shader -- crash!!

    Again, I added vertex color to the quad mesh at run time and crash went away.

    Unity needs to fix this ASAP.
     
  21. radimoto

    radimoto

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Posts:
    257
    I've isolated the issue in my project to Text Mesh Pro. I'm creating a new GameObject and then adding a TextMeshPro component. Setting up the TextMeshPro component works OK in Start, however it never ever gets to run it's Update and always crashes before then.

    I will notify the Text Mesh pro dev as I can't see any way to add the Vertex Colors easily.

    manny003 - I'm also creating a Quad Primitive, which is the background for my TextMeshPro (which hovers above the players) but that seems to be working OK. It's only when I enable Text Mesh Pro that it crashes every time.

    EDIT: I'm making some progress in figuring out why this is happening with Text Mesh Pro. If I add my component at run-time it crashes every time. If I save my component to my prefab before hand, it works OK. Now to figure out why...

    EDIT2: I have rewritten my code to Instantiate a TextMeshPro prefab, rather than creating a GameObject and adding a TextMeshPro component. This works fine so I will just use this workflow for anything run-time in the future, I don't really have time to figure out why it was crashing using the other method.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2015
  22. kreso

    kreso

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    145
    I can confirm using TextMesh Pro in my project. I had suspicion it might be reason for crashing but never confirmed it.
    In my case, I am generating prefab that already has the component attached (not generating component at runtime like you) - it is crashing.

    I will contact the author of TextMeshPro, maybe he can help while Unity figures this out.
    EDIT: TextMeshPro Forum post: http://digitalnativestudios.com/forum/index.php?topic=409.0
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2015
  23. Stephan-B

    Stephan-B

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Posts:
    2,269
    What shader are you using?

    Radimoto already brought this issue to my attention.

    This appears to be a new Unity bug in 5.0. Based on his feedback thus far, this seems to be related to prefabs and how the are instantiated.

    I am puzzled by the connection between how an object is created from a prefab and how this would cause a vertex related error on iOS. In terms of the vertex colors, the geometry created by TextMesh Pro always has vertex colors. Unity did make significant changes to how OpenGL ES is handled in 5.0.

    On my part, I am still trying to reproduce the error on my end. I have tried different methods of instantiating prefabs and creating builds on iOS (mono 2.x, IL2CPP, Open GL ES 2.0, 3.0 and Metal) and they all work. If anyone is able to create a Repro of this and get it to me that would be greatly appreciated.

    For certain, please file bug reports with Unity as the ability to reproduce this is key. Until I can reproduce it, I can't really file any bug with them.
     
  24. PixelCanvas

    PixelCanvas

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Just my two cents... I was stumped on this for three days. Downloaded Unity 5 and using Xcode 6.2 to compile my project. I was getting bad access errors in Xcode after upgrading my project to Unity 5. I was pulling my hair out as to why this would happen. Just found this thread. I disabled static batching and dynamic batching... still crashed. But after going through all my objects in the scene I found an object with no material or shader. Added a material etc. and I'm back in business. I don't have TextMesh Pro installed. Hope this helps...
     
  25. rshelby

    rshelby

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    I ran into this problem last night. I had some unnecessary hidden gameobjects without materials so I removed those following the advice of PixelCanvas above. Disabling Dynamic Batching fixed my problem in the end. Thanks for the information on this thread! Saved me a few late evenings!
     
  26. kreso

    kreso

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    145
    I finally found time to deal with this.

    I have found out my crash has nothing to do with TextMeshPro.
    I do want to commend the author of TextMeshPro for reacting immediately, asking questions and acting genuinely concerned about anything affecting his plugin. Thank you Stephan.
    Text Mesh Pro is one of most brilliant plugins that I am using with Unity.

    My problem was used by 2D Toolkit. More specifically it was my code that was sending a dimension X of '0' to tk2dTiledSprite. Unity couldn't handle it, and crashed the game.
     
  27. Stephan-B

    Stephan-B

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Posts:
    2,269
    Glad you found the cause of the issue.

    Speaking of dimensions... There is an issue with the RectTransform where although it has a width and a height, in Awake() and possibly in Start() RectTransform.rect or sizeDelta will return incorrect values of zero.

    I filed a bug report on it which Unity acknowledged as a bug which will get fixed but in the meantime, these incorrect values on the RectTransform could possibly cause similar issues.
     
  28. Internet

    Internet

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    This didn't work for me, unfortunately. I'm dynamically generating some meshes which crash my app when debugging on an iPad Air. Works fine in the Unity editor, and I'm making sure that the color property of the mesh is set correctly, the color array is always as long as the vertex array. At this point I'm convinced it not a bug in my code, but in Unity's.

    I'm Using Unity 5.01f1, it didn't crash before updating to this version. The previous version was also a 5.?, I'm not sure which one exactly.
     
  29. sevensails

    sevensails

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    483
    I have the same error here with a 2D project and could not find yet what is wrong! Strangely, I was able to reproduce the same crash on Android, but with some minor random changes it was fixed, but the crash remains on iOS.

    I do use TextMeshPro and 2dToolkit, but I'm not sure if the problem is related to any of them.
     
  30. sevensails

    sevensails

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    483
    I think I solved the bug! In my project, it was caused by a TextMeshPro Label with no text on it.

    I had a TextMeshPro Label with no Text on It. I did use "FindMissingVertexColors" and found this label. I had to set some text on it, change it's color to something else, set the text to empty again, and change the color again to the original color. And voila, problem fixed!

    The bug really happens because of Missing Vertex Colors. But, why this is closed if the bug still happens with Unity 5.0.1f? http://issuetracker.unity3d.com/iss...attributes-causes-a-crash-on-dynamic-batching
     
  31. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    I'm running into a similar issue with 5.0.1. Really hoping for a fix as manual fix or the script doesn't work.
     
  32. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    Can someone how to use the script that was posted above to automatically fix missing vertex colors? I've run it in my scene and it says it found lots of objects with missing vertex colors and fixed them. However, if I close my scene and open it again and run the script, it finds the exact same number of missing vertex colors. Is there some way for me to save what changes it's made?
     
  33. Stephan-B

    Stephan-B

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Posts:
    2,269
  34. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
  35. pahe

    pahe

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    543
    @Mantas Puida Thx for the info! Can't wait for the patch. Our app is running currently, but has a massive performance decrease due to this bug.
     
  36. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
  37. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    Heard it's been delayed slightly. Hopefully by end of week.
     
  38. MrEsquire

    MrEsquire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2,712
    Its out, goto the patch section of site
     
  39. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    Awesome ... thanks.
     
  40. GilCat

    GilCat

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Posts:
    676
    Thanks
    I still have the same problem with Unity 5.0.1 patch 1 :(
    Here i go again back to 5.0.0 again as it's the only one that works for me
     
  41. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    I tried rolling back to 5.0.0 from 5.0.1 but when I did, I found every scene to be empty. How exactly do you roll back?
     
  42. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    Also, my issue wasn't fixed either ... I'm going to submit a new bug report.
     
  43. GilCat

    GilCat

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Posts:
    676
    To be able to roll back or make the project portable you need to have "version control" set to "visible meta files" on the Editor Settings.
     
  44. manny003

    manny003

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    For what its worth, the new patch seemed to have fixed my issue. I commented out all my code that was written to add vector colors and it ran fine under all graphics API.

    I'll leave the code in place and commented out for now -- just in case.

    Maybe for everyone else, perhaps your crash problem is not related directly the the issue in the ticket but something else entirely.
     
  45. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    Mine ended up being related to audio file import settings and not related to this item. Working now that I adjusted audio settings for all audio clips.
     
  46. manny003

    manny003

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    Interesting. Can you elaborate in case I should ever run into same issue?
     
  47. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,101
    I got an error in my xcode log that mentioned fmod. I wasn't using fmod so I figured it was a unity 5 thing. I selected all audio clips in my project and unchecked the pre load into memory flag or whatever it's called and switched to mp3 format. Then everything worked.
     
  48. ethestel

    ethestel

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    I was experienceing this error as well. After a few hours of debugging, I figured out the reason and fixed it. There is a mesh on my scene I modeled in Blender, and it's without vertex colors, and the shader of material i was using for that mesh was using vertex colors on its vertex function. After removing it from input struct, it's running without errors on ios.

    This was the error log I was getting on ios main thread:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. * thread #1: tid = 0x475a6, 0x00d31b44 seksutpesinde`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetBuffer at DataBuffersGLES.h:37, queue = 'com.apple.main-thread', stop reason = EXC_BAD_ACCESS (code=1, address=0xffffff07)
    2.   * frame #0: 0x00d31b44 seksutpesinde`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetBuffer at DataBuffersGLES.h:37
    3.     frame #1: 0x00d31b44 seksutpesinde`SetVertexStateGLES [inlined] GetGLName at BuffersGLES.h:160
    4.     frame #2: 0x00d31b44 seksutpesinde`SetVertexStateGLES + 408 at VertexDeclarationGLES.cpp:139
    5.     frame #3: 0x00d20edc seksutpesinde`DrawBuffers + 84 at GfxDeviceGLES.cpp:1508
    6.     frame #4: 0x00e39fe0 seksutpesinde`DrawChunk + 212 at DynamicVBO.cpp:167
    7.     frame #5: 0x00e83ec8 seksutpesinde`EndDynamicBatching + 180 at GfxDevice.cpp:642
    8.     frame #6: 0x00e7f994 seksutpesinde`RenderMultipleMeshes [inlined] RenderDynamicBatch + 592 at BatchRendering.cpp:203
    9.     frame #7: 0x00e7f744 seksutpesinde`RenderMultipleMeshes + 420 at BatchRendering.cpp:375
    10.     frame #8: 0x00daa578 seksutpesinde`Flush + 132 at BatchRenderer.cpp:104
    11.     frame #9: 0x00dab7d0 seksutpesinde`PerformRendering + 3824 at ForwardShaderRenderLoop.cpp:759
    12.     frame #10: 0x00dac660 seksutpesinde`DoForwardShaderRenderLoop + 2356 at ForwardShaderRenderLoop.cpp:1183
    13.     frame #11: 0x00dbbffc seksutpesinde`DoRenderLoop + 1816 at RenderLoopPrivate.cpp:429
    14.     frame #12: 0x00dc39e8 seksutpesinde`DoRender + 104 at Camera.cpp:1175
    15.     frame #13: 0x00dc4320 seksutpesinde`Render + 524 at Camera.cpp:1833
    16.     frame #14: 0x00df9b24 seksutpesinde`RenderCameras + 448 at RenderManager.cpp:111
    17.     frame #15: 0x00f30ca0 seksutpesinde`PlayerRender + 156 at Player.cpp:1488
    18.     frame #16: 0x00f31db8 seksutpesinde`PlayerLoop + 3820 at Player.cpp:1988
    19.     frame #17: 0x00cc5b44 seksutpesinde`UnityPlayerLoopImpl + 20 at LibEntryPoint.mm:214
    20.     frame #18: 0x00115ee4 seksutpesinde`UnityRepaint + 248 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:218
    21.     frame #19: 0x00115de4 seksutpesinde`-[UnityAppController(self=0x190c5db0, _cmd=0x018b801c) repaint] + 152 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:67
    22.     frame #20: 0x00115c6c seksutpesinde`__51-[UnityAppController(.block_descriptor=<unavailable>) repaintDisplayLink]_block_invoke + 108 at UnityAppController+Rendering.mm:52
    23.     frame #21: 0x05d2619a libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_call_block_and_release + 10
    24.     frame #22: 0x05d26186 libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_client_callout + 22
    25.     frame #23: 0x05d29e9c libdispatch.dylib`_dispatch_main_queue_callback_4CF + 1504
    26.     frame #24: 0x2a505888 CoreFoundation`__CFRUNLOOP_IS_SERVICING_THE_MAIN_DISPATCH_QUEUE__ + 8
    27.     frame #25: 0x2a503fa8 CoreFoundation`__CFRunLoopRun + 1512
    28.     frame #26: 0x2a44f9a0 CoreFoundation`CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 476
    29.     frame #27: 0x2a44f7b2 CoreFoundation`CFRunLoopRunInMode + 106
    30.     frame #28: 0x31c281a8 GraphicsServices`GSEventRunModal + 136
    31.     frame #29: 0x2dbda694 UIKit`UIApplicationMain + 1440
    32.     frame #30: 0x00106a38 seksutpesinde`main(argc=1, argv=0x05abba60) + 328 at main.mm:40
    using Unity 5.0.1f1
    iPhone 4S running iOS 8.3
     
  49. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
  50. Thelo

    Thelo

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    98
    I also had this problem on 5.0.1f1, and 5.0.1p1 has worked to fix it. Thanks!
     
    MrEsquire likes this.