Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Intent of 'Mixed' Baked mode for lights? (Case 671248)

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by seattlebluesky, Dec 14, 2014.

1. seattlebluesky

seattlebluesky

In Unity 4 a 'seemingly' equivalent value on lights was Lightmapping mode set to 'Auto' which caused the light to behave as a 'Realtime' light within the shadow distance when using dual lightmaps, and a 'Baked Only' light outside of this distance.

In Unity 5 what is the intent of Baked mode set to 'Mixed'?

2. AhrenM

AhrenM

I'm not sure of the intent (and I'm happy to be corrected) but setting my scene 'sun' directional light to mixed had an additave effect, ie bake AND realtime. Things got very very bright.

Might have been a dodgy setup, I'm a bit noob when it comes to lighting.

3. fueldown

fueldown

As far as I know, this mode lets you use the real-time lighting on the baked maps as well. So if you have a ground objects that are baked and your player object has got real-time shadows, setting the light to mixed mode will let the player shadows to be cast on baked ground objects.

4. seattlebluesky

seattlebluesky

My question is whether the functionality provided by the Lightmapping mode in Unity 4 with dual lightmaps is expected to work in Unity 5 b 17 albeit in some other guise.

From my testing I see no difference in the handling of shadows and lightmapping between a Unity 5 light's Baking mode of Baked and Mixed.

5. seattlebluesky

seattlebluesky

Anyone? Is it expected that come Ship for 5.0 that Mixed will provide similar functionality as provided by dual lightmaps in 4.0? Currently there is no, to the best of my knowledge, functional equivalent in 5.0 Beta to 4.0's dual lightmaps feature. Or is there?

6. AcidArrow

AcidArrow