1. Before updating to Windows 10 you may need to return your Pro license. More information here

Instantiating Sprites

Discussion in '2D' started by MajidKhosravi, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. MajidKhosravi

    MajidKhosravi

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Whats the best method of instantiating sprites? I used to use game objects as prefabs and instantiating them using a public reference, however Instantiate function doesn't work with Sprite references.

    Lets say if I have a bullet object as sprite, Should I add sprites to game objects as child and then use those as prefabs to instantiate new items?
     
  2. unitylover

    unitylover

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    You can definitely use prefabs for your sprites. It's the easiest and recommended way to instantiate things.
     
  3. MajidKhosravi

    MajidKhosravi

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    So should I add my sprite as a child object to a game object and then use that game object as prefab, right?
     
  4. unitylover

    unitylover

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    You can either drag a sprite onto your scene and create a prefab from that or use a child container if you need to.
     
  5. MajidKhosravi

    MajidKhosravi

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    thanks, it worked! :)
     
  6. zombiegorilla

    zombiegorilla

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,961
    You can also just in create a new gameobject (programmatically) and attach a spriterenderer to it.
     
  7. sub66pop

    sub66pop

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3