Instantiating Sprites

Discussion in '2D' started by MajidKhosravi, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. MajidKhosravi

    MajidKhosravi

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Whats the best method of instantiating sprites? I used to use game objects as prefabs and instantiating them using a public reference, however Instantiate function doesn't work with Sprite references.

    Lets say if I have a bullet object as sprite, Should I add sprites to game objects as child and then use those as prefabs to instantiate new items?
  2. unitylover

    unitylover

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    You can definitely use prefabs for your sprites. It's the easiest and recommended way to instantiate things.
  3. MajidKhosravi

    MajidKhosravi

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    So should I add my sprite as a child object to a game object and then use that game object as prefab, right?
  4. unitylover

    unitylover

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    You can either drag a sprite onto your scene and create a prefab from that or use a child container if you need to.
  5. MajidKhosravi

    MajidKhosravi

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    thanks, it worked! :)
  6. zombiegorilla

    zombiegorilla

    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,987
    You can also just in create a new gameobject (programmatically) and attach a spriterenderer to it.
  7. sub66pop

    sub66pop

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3