Search Unity

Infinite Scroll with ScrollRect

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by robertohuertasm, Aug 29, 2014.

1. robertohuertasm

robertohuertasm

Hi,

first of all I must confess that I'm an absolute Unity newbie so maybe I'm missing something. I'm playing around with these new UI controls because I want to implement some Wheel Pickers that will be loaded dynamically.

I'm studying the ScrollRect and I can see that with an unrestricted movement and calculating the content position I could manage to move the items in the collection where ever I need.

I have tried this approach and it works ok.

The problem is when I want to know when the animation stops. It seems impossible to get to the velocity. I've decompiled the ScrollRect and implemented one myself in order to expose the velocity but I don't know if there's a better approach in order to accomplish this scenario. I guess you decided to not expose the velocity because of something. Same goes for some events when start dragging, dragging and end dragging. Why they are not there?

Any help will be really appreciated :D

Best regards,

Roberto.

2. runevision

runevision

We'll expose the velocity property.

GibTreaty and robertohuertasm like this.
  3. robertohuertasm

robertohuertasm

Great to hear that!

One more question about this scenario, which I think can be very common. Imagine I have a list of items scrolling in an infinite manner but I want to disable the dragging just for some of them, i.e: when I start the drag over one specific item, this item is not "enabled" but must be visible?

Is this already possible? Or any enabled UI element will cause the scroll rect to scroll the content?

If that's the case maybe it would be nice to expose some OnInitDragging( object sender, DraggingEventArgs e) event before starting dragging with the possibility to cancel the dragging via e.handled or something like this.