Search Unity

I want to make a game, but....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LilWiebe, Sep 25, 2012.

1. LilWiebe

LilWiebe

I'm 15 years old. Several years ago I was developing poor quality indie games as though it was going to be my job some day. Like anyone else, I aimed WAY to high. Now I am primarily a musician, and doing much better with music than I ever did at games. However, lately I've wanted to make some small, simple games as side projects. VERY simple, the one I currently have in mind is a simple top-down WADS and mouse shooter with pretty 'splosions and stuff. No networking, no voice acting, no fancy graphics.

Fancy graphics.

The problem is, that even though I can hold my own programming a simple game, I simply cannot create the necessary visuals. I need ideas for an art style that I can manage, perhaps something very cartoony? Something that involves a lot of primitives (cubes, spheres, the like) most likely? And how will I deal with particle effects? Also, I have absolutely no budget for this project whatsoever. I cannot buy art assets, and I CERTAINLY can't buy Unity Pro.

So that's my problem. What art style would you suggest for someone who's not an artist?

Thanks in advance,

LilWiebe. (Formerly MTracerStudios)

2. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

Check out Geometry Wars, it sounds like exactly the direction you're after.

3. DallonF

DallonF

There's a couple ways you could go about this...

- Recruit somebody with a talent-share deal - basically, find an artist who also wants to make a game but can't program. You program his game, he makes art for your game, and you come out with two complete games! I'm not sure how this works in practice but it's something I always wanted to do.