Search Unity

How to pan the view of a gameObject instead of the camera?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Exnihilon, Aug 29, 2014.

1. Exnihilon

Exnihilon

Greetings to all. I'm having a hard time on this matter of panning a view of a gameObject. I'm new to Unity3d and scripting and I'm trying to develop an AR (Augmented Reality) application for Android.

At one scene, I need to have a gameObject (e.g. a model of a floor), from the normal top down view, rendered to a "pseudo" iso view, inclined to 45 degrees. As the gameObject is inclined, I need to have a panning function on its view, utilizing four (4) buttons (for left, right, forward(or up), backward(or down)).

The problem is that, I cannot use any of the known panning script snippets around the forum, as the AR camera has to be static in the scene.

Need to mention that, I need the panning function to be active only at the isometric view, (which I'm already compute with another script), not on top down view. So there must be no problem with the inclination of the axes of the gameObject, right?

Following, is two mockup images of the states the gameObject (model floor) is rendered and the script code (from Unity reference), that I'm currently using, which is not very much functional for my needs.

TopDown.png

Iso45.png

Here is the code, for left movement of the gameObject (I use the same with a change in -, +speed values, for the other movements), but I get it only move up, down, not forth, backwards:

Code (CSharp):
    2. #pragma strict
    4. // The target gameObject.
    5.     var target: Transform;
    7.     // Speed in units per sec.
    8.     var speedLeft: float = -10;
    10.     private static var isPanLeft = false;
    13.     function FixedUpdate()
    14.     {
    15.     if(isPanLeft == true)
    16.     {
    17.         // The step size is equal to speed times frame time.
    18.         var step = speedLeft * Time.deltaTime;