Search Unity

How to flip an object around an axis from a keypress?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ShodanCat, Mar 3, 2015.

1. ShodanCat

ShodanCat

First off I'm a beginner with Unity, and I apologize if this is obvious, but despite many, many searches and reading I'm not having any luck.

All I'm trying to do is flip an object depending on a keypress. So for example, if I press 'a' the object (character model in this case) will point to the left, and if I press 'd', the object will face to the right.

This is using C#, btw.

In other words, what do I put:

if(Input.GetKey("d"))
    {
    //here!
    }

To rotate on object to face either left or right.

Thanks a lot in advance!

2. CastleIsGreat

CastleIsGreat

Depends on what context you're refering to, but from what it sounds like, I'd look into rotating your character's transform based on your input. Meaning when you press a, you rotate 90 degrees in the Y direction one way, and press D you rotate 90 degress in the Y direction the other way (180 from when you press A).

Rather than just giving you the answer, I propose that I give you where to start looking. Additionally if you're using unity it is always helpful to look into basic C# tutorials which you can find on youtube. I'd suggest starting with these functions though as I believe they are going to be what you're looking for in the Unity API. Found here <http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/>.

Transform
    Transform.rotation
    GameObject.GetComponent<Type>()
    Input.GetKey and its variations
    Input.GetAxis (also useful)
    Quaternion (may want to youtube this)
    Transform.LocalEulerAngles

As they say give a man fish, feed him for a day, teach a man to fish, hope he doesnt catch all your stinkin fish.... ANYWAY give it a shot, if you're still struggling post what you come up with and ill help you a bit more.

3. ShodanCat

ShodanCat