Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How long till your first game?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HKSpadez, Jul 23, 2014.

1. HKSpadez

HKSpadez

I started learning about 2 yrs ago and I've never gotten much done outside of making prototypes. was wondering if anyone else in same boat or if I just really need to nut up and finish one of my projects.

Currently working on a team for a card game: http://adventsaga.net/

But prototypes is about all I've done so far and my role in the team isn't that huge (I work on matchmaking/networking/online chat)

and i was just wondering if this is normal progress.. or wasting too much time with trying new things out and not finishing stuff?

2. Deleted User

Deleted User

I would say its probably fairly common, however now is the point that you need to start finishing a project that's worthwhile. I'm still learning myself but I have also spent a year or so working on prototypes and switching from project to project, but I am currently working on my first worthwhile project. Try not to feel like it was time wasted but rather time spent learning and just getting a feel for game Dev.

3. melkior

melkior

In February of 2012 I decided I would teach myself programming (having already been an artist for many years) and released my first game in October of 2012.

I worked extremely hard and dedicated to do that though.

I have now completed 8 games, 6 of which actually got released. 2 were prototypes that werent worth going too much farther with but are playable little games :)

Gigiwoo likes this.
  4. calmcarrots

calmcarrots