Search Unity

How long did it take YOU to learn blender

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by Liamo, Sep 30, 2011.

1. Liamo

Liamo

Hi guys, I'm new to Unity and just familiarizing myself with the tools I'm using (namely, blender and GIMP) I was just wondering, how long did it take you to learn your 3d tool, and what was the hardest part. Cheers.

2. ivanzu

ivanzu

30min+previous knowledge of 3dsmax.

3. W01ff

W01ff

I had no prior 3d modelling knowledge, so I really started from scratch. Found some very good intro tutorials showing the basics on http://blenderunderground.com/. If you have a bit more knowledge and just want to see where the different tools are located, check out the "Get started with Blender" on http://cgcookie.com/blender/. The last site has some very good tutorials worth watching as well.

You asked how long - with full tie job, phd project and a family, it took me around 4 months before I could make anything worth showing here. Could be done a lot faster though if the study is intensifyed.

4. Costy

Costy

5. Kellyrayj

Kellyrayj

cgcookie.com was excellent source to learn blender. I also found http://www.blenderguru.com/ to be quite helpful. I feel like Andrew Price's mentality is along the same lines as Andrew Kramer with videocopliot. He shows you how to make some really cool stuff, and you pick up techniques along the way.

6. steego

steego

7. ivanzu

ivanzu

8. RoyS

RoyS

9. Kellyrayj

Kellyrayj

I would have to agree. The only issue is if you are new to blender you would probably want to begin to learn 2.5 and up which that tutorial is something like 2.49 or something like that.

Something to think about however is the same guy that made that tutorial is making a whole series of tutorials for low-poly modeling and then how to get that into blender for about $35 or so.

http://cgcookie.com/blender/2011/07/26/announcement-pre-orders-for-new-low-poly-character-training-series/

Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  10. TehWut