Search Unity

How do I make a Infinite weapon generation system? (Borderlands-esk)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by BreakofHavoc, Nov 26, 2014.

1. BreakofHavoc

BreakofHavoc

I'm really new to this kind of stuff, honestly my friend has just been teaching me. And I was just wondering if there is a way I can make a weapon pool type deal like Gearbox and 2K's famous "Borderlands" series?

2. Tomnnn

Tomnnn

Get some resizable gun parts that are adjusted by code. Make a few variables that affect gun stats, and adjust them by code. Mix those two systems and you're set.

If you're new, I would focus on either making modular gun parts or the variable weapon stat parts.

BreakofHavoc likes this.
  3. BreakofHavoc

BreakofHavoc

Thank you so much! do you happen to have any pre-written coding i could use or is this gonna be hours of extra work?

4. GarthSmith

GarthSmith

If you want something AAA-quality, yes it's going to take a lot of work! Check out this dev blog that lays out exactly how loot rolls in Borderlands 2 works.
    http://www.gearboxsoftware.com/community/articles/1087/inside-the-box-the-borderlands-2-loot-system

That's probably overkill for you. Just thought I'd stop by with this link. Yeah, not very helpful I know. >.>

EDIT: Re-reading your post, you're asking about randomizing the weapons themselves, not how to pick which weapon to drop as loot. You might still get some insight into the weapon stats part of it, but it's not exactly what you're asking for.

Last edited: Nov 26, 2014
  5. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

It's -esque

/grammar nazi

6. Tomnnn

Tomnnn

My lazy, phonetic eyes went right past that mistake D: I feel so ashamed...