Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I make 3D Platformer controller like the old N64 games?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Bryan77, Jun 26, 2015.

1. Bryan77

Bryan77

Hello. I am a beginner when it comes to scripting, as I am mostly an animator. I am trying to get a character to move around like a 3D platformer. Meaning, when I press "w" I want to go forward in relation to the camera. If I press "a" I want my character to go left, in relation to the camera (and so on) I also want my character to face in the direction that he is moving. I don't like how mecanin has the animation drive the movement, because if I change the animations that will mess everything up. Also, the example controllers that Unity uses control very clunky. I also need to jump. I haven 't been able to find a tutorial on this type of control. Would someone be able to help me figure this out?

A related question (Which might be better asked in a separate thread,) is how I can have the camera be controlled with the mouse.

2. LeftyRighty

LeftyRighty

you don't have to use root motion in the mecanim animators.

basic movement and camera control is covered in the learn section tutorials... might be worth looking at them and if you get stuck on something a little more specific posting back here. Jump is "just" a vertical force added when the play presses the control, again basic user input is covered in the tutorials.

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules

3. Bryan77

Bryan77

Yes, I have been looking at the learn section for the past week, and the best I can come up with is having forces acting like he's on ice, and tank controls. Neither of which work in relation to the camera