Search Unity

How do I get a working ladder in my 2D Sidescroller?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by KiritoKazuto99, Jul 25, 2014.

1. KiritoKazuto99

KiritoKazuto99

If anyone can tell me how to get a working ladder in my 2d side scroller that would be great. I have no idea where to start since this is my first time making a game, and, I just started making it 4 days ago.
    The game looks 2d except for the character, but everything is made out of simple cubes.

Here is a video of how it looks:

I am testing the player controls with the Player Controller script in this video:

It doesn't use gravity, it's kinematic

Last edited: Jul 25, 2014
  2. Polymorphik

Polymorphik

Hmm...Interesting. Well off the top of my head I would suggest you have box collider on the ladder IF possible and have a trigger happen on the player script / input manager when it comes near it. This way you can then trigger the up arrow to then allow the player to animate and move its position upwards so long as it is near the ladder. Also, what would be nice if the ladder itself would relay back to you the height of it, this way you can check if you are almost to the top and have the player animate to turn left or right. This way the player can actually get on solid ground rather then go up to the top, then fall again. Make sense?

3. KiritoKazuto99

KiritoKazuto99

It makes sense, but I just don't know how to do the scripting myself just yet. I am currently learning how to do all of this coding stuff, but it's only been 4 days...

4. Polymorphik

Polymorphik