1. Submit bugs to enter our 5.4 Beta Sweepstakes. Read more about it here.
  2. Unity 5.4 public beta is now available for all users. Grab the build and visit the 5.4 beta forum.
  3. Missing a module? More about the new installer in 5.3 here.
  4. 4.7.1 released for Xcode 7.3 support. Thread here.

How do I convert light into an alpha value in Strumpy?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by TomBrien, Apr 29, 2012.

1. TomBrien

TomBrien

Hey! I'm completely new to manipulating shaders.
    I've used 3DSMax for a long time, so I have a knowledge of how diffuse and bumps maps work, and what Fresnel and Self-illumination is and so on, but I'm not GREAT at it.

Anyway- How can I get an Emission map to have an alpha based on how much light is hitting an object? Here's me in 3DStudio:
    [​IMG]
    (I'm finding out this software deserves a lot of credit for how easy to use it is)

And here's me in the Strumpy Shader Editor:
    [​IMG]
    (Strumpy is also fairly intuitive, considering I've not had to learn any coding)

I think it's using the Luminance Constant, but I don't know how to covert that into a 0 to 1 value.
    ...And then I THINK I can bend the gradient from light to dark using Clamp- but hey one step at a time right.

2. Jesus

Jesus

In the strumpy examples you should find one called 'Ramp Lighting' or similar.

This grabs the luminosity at a pixel, and maps it to the U channel of the Ramp Texture.

Take some time to understand the buts of that shader, how and why everything works, and it shouldn't be hard to rebuild a similar one that uses luminosity to affect the Alpha channel.

3. TomBrien

TomBrien

Thanks Jesus, I figured out what ramp shaders were by downloading a Skin Shader and deconstructring it (also found out more about rim lighting).

I couldn't figure out how to do it in Strumpy, but LUCKILY I found an old thread where someone literally pasted a graph.