Search Unity

How do I animate a door to open with C#?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Rockinator, Jul 26, 2014.

1. Rockinator

Rockinator

I have a variable in a separate script for when a player collects an item, "itemCounter"; how would I go about making a script to check for collision of "Player" to animate a door, "doorOpen", while checking if "itemCounter" is greater than 0?

2. Rockinator

Rockinator

using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;

public class doorOpen : MonoBehaviour
    {
    void onTriggerStay(Collider other)
    {
    if(other.gameObject.tag == "Player")
    {
    if(Input.GetButtonDown(KeyCode.E) && itemCounter == 1)
    {
    animation.Play("doorOpen");
    }
    }
    }
    }

This is what I am working with.. as you can see, I am not good at coding yet..

3. Rockinator

Rockinator

Help please..

4. der_r

der_r

At first glance your code looks correct. What I often do is putting print("Yay!") starting from the outer areas of a function and moving it more and more into the inner-most conditions to find out where it doesn't reach. If you're checking values, you can also do print(other.gameObject.tag) to see what the actual value is compared to the one you're expecting.

Edit: Also try OnTriggerStay instead of onTriggerStay... the other day somebody mentioned on Twitter that OnTriggerStay2d doesn't get called but OnTriggerStay2D does.

5. Rockinator

Rockinator

Assets/doorOpen.cs(10,34): error CS1502: The best overloaded method match for `UnityEngine.Input.GetButtonDown(string)' has some invalid arguments

Assets/doorOpen.cs(10,34): error CS1503: Argument `#1' cannot convert `UnityEngine.KeyCode' expression to type `string'

These are the two errors that have come up..

6. Rockinator

Rockinator

Okay, I changed the word Button to Key and it alleviated the error. Now a new error took it's place:

Assets/doorOpen.cs(10,59): error CS0103: The name `itemCounter' does not exist in the current context