Search Unity

How did you guys get started?

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by chubbyshlubby, Sep 15, 2016.

1. chubbyshlubby

chubbyshlubby

Hey, I'm really new to Unity.
    I've seen a lot of people talking about flight simulators, dragon flight physics, and bridge construction games. All this seems really hard to do, so I was wondering how you guys got started?
    What resources did you learn, and how old are you guys (you can just say like teenager, late twenties, something like that) (I'm thirteen)
    Where did you learn how to code?
    Just generally how did you get to where you are today. Also, if you could recommend some good beginner games to try and make, I would love to see your suggestions.

2. AlanMattano

AlanMattano

Welcome @chubbyshlubby , how are you?

If you put "@", you are calling one specific person in this forum. You can call me when you need me.Actually I'm intermediate level Unity user.

I'm making a flight simulator because I'm a pilot, middle age and is closer to my skills.

Long story: I try to learn a lot of skills and then, I make this kind of game where they can fit well and where I'm well making it. Is not hard to do. Needs time, knowledge, passion and more important perseverance. I'm not making a popular game. I did not know well what I wanted to become. In that situation, I give the chance, to myself, to learn something new. And that, always helps me later. If not I just work with talent people that teach me how to do. I'm not afraid of learning, also if sometimes I making mistakes. I'm sorry for my English that can confuse, yes, but I can deal with it. Is possible to learn from an error so that I do not repeat them. Is important to recognise the error. I learn from coding how to recognise what is an error. I do not follow a trend. I create it (my own, hoping is good). Those are the basic principles that guide me to where I'm are today.