Search Unity

Hovercraft physics

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Nevermind, Jun 27, 2014.

1. Nevermind

Nevermind

So, I've just put together your go-to package, in case you want to make a game featuring hovercrafts. It contains modular scripts handling all hovercraft movement - hovering, accelerations, turning etc, player-controlled.
    Thrown in for good measure are scripts to attach effects and sound to your hovercraft, and even a simple model (it's kinda sucky, though. I'm a programmer, not an artist)

Check the web demo here: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/19041
    Or download a manual here: http://chaoscultgames.com/products/HoverWeb/manual.pdf

The package is live on Asset Store: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/19041

2. MrDude

MrDude

I am actually interested in this but i will need my craft's physics to not always use world axis down as gravity and not just use the terrain to level itself against, but any mesh I choose. I.e. I would want my craft to fly up the side of skyscrapers and for that phase, all gravity should work as if the building is the ground plane... Can your kit do that?

For instance, say I am making a hoverboard game (real sci fi style ) and i want my character to hover down the side of a mountain until ot reaches a 300 storey highrise. At that point the hoverboard start flying up the side of the building, competing against the other racers doing the same. At one point he gets to a huge billboard that runs between the current building and the next and he decides to take a shortcut bu activating the magnets on the boards and using the metal billboard as the surface to fly the next 5 minutes of the race on...

Doing this would entail one of two things:
    1. Rotating the entire world and everything in it
    Or
    2. Gravity being alterred and only the craft behaving differently... This is the option I am rooting for.

Can your kit do this?