Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Homing Missiles?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SpyridonZ, Nov 19, 2009.

1. SpyridonZ

SpyridonZ

I'm no expert in math (havent taken trig yet), so I'm wondering if anyone could kindly explain how I could calculate a missile following a target, similar to a tracking or homing missile commonly seen in games?

Either a quick example of the math involved, or a link that would teach me how to calculate it would be appreciated :p

2. ChrisMann

ChrisMann

you don't really have to calculate it.

Code (csharp):
    1. transform.lookAt(positionOfTargetGoesHere);
    Points the missile at the target.

then you can either translate it forwards, or addforce to it to make it move.

3. SpyridonZ

SpyridonZ

Sorry I may have left out some information.

I dont want it to guaranteed hit the target at all times - I want the homing to have a limit in how sharp the missiles turn - that way they -could- be avoided, but it will be harder than if they did not home in.

4. DMJ

DMJ

If you use the LookAt() suggestion above and go the "addforce" route, you can make the missile easier or harder to evade by altering the force added and the mass of the missile.

If the force-to-mass ratio is pitched right, it will have difficulty overcoming its own inertia and will be easier to evade.

That's how I do my missiles, anyway.

Smarter homing missile techniques involve predicting where the target will be based on the separation and the relative velocities and aiming for that instead.

You might also want to consider adding some code to prevent the missile from reaching Ludicrous Speed if it gets to accelerate in a straight line for a long time. The physics engine would probably get cranky calculating collisions between objects moving ridiculously fast.

5. magwo

magwo