Search Unity

Hidden-Edge Wireframe Shader?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by AceTheSeeker, Dec 3, 2014.

1. AceTheSeeker

AceTheSeeker

Hello I'm fairly new with Unity, I'll get right to the business.
    I wish to make a game (obviously) and I want it to be in wireframe, not in a standard wireframe mode, but in- what Blender 3D calls -"Hidden Wireframe" mode. I have attached an image of the wireframe mode in action. Blender 3D can (as far as I know) only do this in the "editing" state of modelling, aka not in the game-engine.
    What it does is it doesnt draw edges that are behind a face (so the faces look solid). We could of course cheat and make a material that has the same color as the sky/background and just add a wireframe shader on top of that.

I suspected it should be fairly simple to write a shader that does wireframe like this. I wanted to see if it hadn't already been done, and as far as I could tell it hasn't exactly been done the way I need it. Blender also has this wireframe thing where if an edge is less than say, 45 degrees, it will not draw the edge. This can be nice on cylinders, or faces that have multiple triangles but together make a flat surface. This would be nice if it could be done in a shader as well.

I'm not gonna act all smart, but I am not stupid. I know what it takes to make games, yet I struggle with textures so I resort to making a game in wireframe (which could look nice and/or unique). I have worked with Blender for over 5 years now and I have done lots of game models for source games and such (as practice)

Desired Result (with the exception of the four edges that can be seen here but aren't visible in the first picture for Blender reasons)

Any help is of course appreciated!

2. mouurusai

mouurusai