Search Unity

Help with converting old GUI code and applying it to the new GUI

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by DigitalAdam, Jul 30, 2015.

1. DigitalAdam

DigitalAdam

Hey,

I'm new to scripting so please bear with me. What I'm trying to do is remove the GUI creation within the script below, and create new UI using Unity 5's GUI system. So I have two 'InputFields' in my scene; one for the bots responses, and another for my input. I also created a button to submit my input.

I created a C# script called "Chat.cs". I think I need to attach that script to all 3 UI elements; 'On Value change (String)' and 'On Click'. Is that correct?

Here is the original script, could someone help me refine it to work?

Thanks!

Code (csharp):
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using System.Collections;
    5. public class ChatWindowExample2 : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.         private Chatbot bot;
    8.         public GUISkin myskin;
    9.         private string messBox = "", messBoxAnswer = "", ask = "", user = "Me";
    10.         private Rect windowRect;
    12.         // Use this for initialization
    13.         void Start ()
    14.         {
    15.                 bot = new Chatbot ();
    16.         }
    18.         void OnGUI ()
    19.         {
    20.                 GUI.skin = myskin;
    21.                 // Width of the text box; This formula sets the width according to the screen size
    22.                 float W = (700 * Screen.height) / 800;
    23.                 // Height of the text box; This formula adjust the height according to the screen size
    24.                 float H = (210 * Screen.height) / 600;
    25.                 if (Screen.width < Screen.height) {
    26.                         windowRect = new Rect (0, Screen.height - H, Screen.width, H);
    27.                 } else {
    28.                         windowRect = new Rect (Screen.width / 2 - W / 2, Screen.height - H, W, H);
    29.                 }