Search Unity

HELP me pls!

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by leyenpa, Dec 18, 2014.

1. leyenpa

leyenpa

Hey there,

i was wondering if you can help me with a very simple script. – well, very simple for you. ;)
    I am an absolute beginner comming more from the design devision. At the moment i am doing my bachelor thesis in Design.

Here is my scene:
    file_01.jpg

The small spheres (Particles) are moving very slow into the big sphere...
    I would love to have a collision-sound, if they hit the sphere.

I need something like:
    if Particles hit the sphere (big in the middle) play random sounds (out of 3)...
    i would love to have 3 var for 3 different sounds, 1 var for the Particle Emitter and 1 var for the hitting Object
    (big sphere) so that i cant destroy something in the script :)
    Do they particles need anything more? - for example a collider?

Pls help me! I need you!

2. JobR

JobR

I don't actually know how to do the random part but the first part should be like
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void OnTriggerEnter (collider other)
    2. {
    3.      if(gameObject.tag == Particle)
    4. {
    5.      PlayClipAtPoint();
    6. }
    7. }
    Not sure about the playclipatpoint part :p

the reason I use tagging is because I think is the easiest way but you choise :)

3. Coldcalifornian

Coldcalifornian

I recommend you don't use the OnTriggerEnter method because it will require your particles to have colliders (inefficient).

Alternatively, Unity has a build in message call specifically designed for your scenario. Make sure to read the following section to get a full explanation of when this message is called (you will be using the Shuriken particle system if you're up to date with unity 4.6).

http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/MonoBehaviour.OnParticleCollision.html

Here is some code which responds to this message:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    3. public class PlayRandomSoundOnParticleHit : MonoBehaviour {