Search Unity

Grid game - best way to start

Discussion in '2D' started by mjmurray, Jul 24, 2014.

1. mjmurray

mjmurray

Hi there,

I'm an okish coder and I'm getting used to Unity. I have a great idea but I haven't got a clue as to the best way to start it. Could anyone point me in the right direction so I don't go down a bunch of dead ends.

Imagine a grid 5 squares wide and 21 squares high. Imagine each square has a gem in it. I want to be able to slide only the middle row left and right and also be able to slide each row up and down.

Any one have any ideas or tutorials which might point me in the right direction?

2. mjmurray

mjmurray

Something a bit like this

3. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

Don't know of any tutorials, but its not too complex to do. I just recently built a game prototype using that exact mechanic. Really all you need to do is make the gem draggable, and then just move the others at the same time. Presumably you are using a 2d array, so you just update all the row or column at the same time. The only minor challenge was accounting for the wrap around, since you will need to display the end gem in two places. What I did was make a "proxy" gem that contained a copy of all the sprites, and moved that to the ends, turning on/off the sprites I needed to display. Here is what it looked like:

mjmurray and JayJennings like this.
  4. mjmurray

mjmurray

That is a thing of beauty ZombieGorilla! That is 99.9% of the game mechanics I need. I don't suppose you could give me any tips on how to start it? How did you go about getting the grid started? Is it best to do it in 2d or 3d? Did you code it off the top of your head or use any pre existing frameworks? It looks amazing!! It's really inspired me that my project can be done in unity.

5. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla