Search Unity

Google Play games login guide

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Lanre, Apr 20, 2015.

1. Lanre

Lanre

THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR ALL USING GOOGLE PLAY GAMES SDK FOR iOS

Good day guys.I submitted my app "Velociti" to the app store, but it got rejected. Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 11.16.32 AM.png So I filed an appeal, but got rejected again, the apple team saying that I had to use an in-app web view. I spent saturday, sunday, and this morning (monday) trying to fix it in Xcode as I'm not familiar with the iOS environment at all. With help from these links: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/...s-with-out-opening-external-browser-in-iphone and https://code.google.com/p/google-plus-platform/issues/detail?id=900 , I've finally managed to fix it. The instruction on the aforementioned pages are correct but hard to understand for a total noob to Xcode.

In this post, I'll show you how to get a UIWebView to login to google play directly from your app. Lets begin:-

1. Build your game from Unity with everything configured as usual (make sure you have configured google play games for iOS in Unity from the menu).

2. Open the generated XCode project

3. Right click on "Unity-iPhone" in the top left menu and click "New File".

4. Select iOS (top left menu) >> Source >> Header File

5. Name your header file "Application" or anything you want, and make sure your app is selected as a target for the header.

6. In "Appllication.h", paste this code below "#endif":
    Code (CSharp):
    1. #import <UIKit/UIKit.h>
    3. #define ApplicationOpenGoogleAuthNotification @"ApplicationOpenGoogleAuthNotification"
    5. @interface Application : UIApplication
    6. - (BOOL)openURL:(NSURL*)url;
    7. @end
    This defines a notification that we are going to use to call the function to open the webview in the app and the method in the Application implementation file that intercepts the google sign in URL.