Search Unity

fullscreen shader / copy the color under the darkest pixel

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by og0, Jan 26, 2015.

1. og0

og0

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in shaders. I'm working on a grayscale image. I'd like to write a shaders which, for each column of pixels, finds the darkest pixel and colorize each pixel under it with the same color. Can i do it with shaders ? How can i scan each column of pixels, save the darkest color and know the pixel coordinates ?

Thanks a lot !

2. TechnoCraft

TechnoCraft

This is an advanced topic. The point is you need a really good reason to do that. I would advise you to read more about the basics before returning to this problem. See this tutorial series from Unity Cookie.

You are asking: How do I scan a specifis pixel color from a texture inside a shader function (vert, frag).
    You can read a precise color value from a specific point in a texture but some prerequisites must be met first:

Texture settings:
    Wrap mode: Clamp (While clamp is not really required it will show you when you get out of scope with the coordinates)
    Filter mode: Point (If you need exact "pixel-perfect" colors this is a must. Otherwise the colors will be blended based on selected filter).

Let's assume the texture size is 32x32.
    Indexes start at 0 and end at length-1. "Valid" coordinates from [0..31]. By valid i refer to "clamp-ed" texture. If you specify index out of these bounds you will get the closest border color from the texture. If "Repeat" wrap mode is used then the texture is tiled ("into infinity"). The index is divided with texture size, what remains is the index used to extract the color.

float height = 32.0 - 1.0;
    float x = 0.0;
    float y = 0.0;

And you want to get the bottom left corner color:

float4 color = tex2D(MainTexture, float2(x / height, y / height));

Top right corner color:
    x = 31.0;
    y = 31.0;
    color = tex2D(MainTexture, float2(x / height, y / height));

Top "center" color:
    x = 15.0;