Search Unity

FPS controller

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by pauliina, Nov 25, 2015.

1. pauliina

pauliina

Hey, so I'm pretty new to programming, and I really want to get good. I'm making an FPS right now, and I looked at a tutorial on how to do the movement with the camera etc, and got it working just fine. However, I don't -understand- the code. I've programmed player movement and camera movement before, but I then used GetButton and lots of if-statements. Here they used GetAxis and the character controller and vectors. I don't fully understand it. So, I would really, really appreciate it if someone could "translate" the code line by line, so that I actually learn and can do this again in the future. It's pretty much just the GetAxis and Character controller I don't understand. And I don't fully grasp all the different variables, but I kinda get it. Super duper thanks in advance!

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class FirstPersonController : MonoBehaviour {
    6.     float movementSpeed = 5.0f;
    7.     float mouseSensitivity = 2.0f;
    8.     float verticalRotation = 0;
    9.     public float upDownRange = 60.0f;
    11.     // Use this for initialization
    12.     void Start () {
    13.     }
    15.     // Update is called once per frame
    16.     void Update () {
    18.         //side rotation
    19.         float rotSides = Input.GetAxis("Mouse X") * mouseSensitivity;
    20.         transform.Rotate (0, rotSides, 0);
    22.         //up/down rotation
    23.         verticalRotation -= Input.GetAxis("Mouse Y") * mouseSensitivity;
    24.         verticalRotation = Mathf.Clamp(verticalRotation, -upDownRange, upDownRange);
    25.         Camera.main.transform.localRotation = Quaternion.Euler(verticalRotation, 0, 0);
    27.         // movement
    28.         float forwardSpeed = Input.GetAxis("Vertical") * movementSpeed;