Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Endless Forest - 2d infinite runner (my first major project)

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by The_Least, Jul 26, 2015.

1. The_Least

The_Least

Hello all! I've been dabbling in Unity for about six months now, and last month decided to get serious about making and releasing a complete game. I've chosen to make a 2D infinite runner, inspired by Canabalt, to ease myself into the process.

I'm still quite new to this - before 2015 the only programming I'd ever done was some Pascal for High School, back in the 90s. I welcome any and all comments, criticisms and advice.

First gameplay footage:

All visual assets are placeholders. Yes, there are bugs and glitches.

Overview:
    You play as a dryad, running through a forest, jumping across chasms, while planting seeds in enchanted soil, and gathering whisps. Whisps increase the dryad's speed and score multiplier, running into an obstacle will reset both. The game ends when the player fails to make a jump.

Dryad concept art:
    Dryad_Pose.jpg

Gameplay:
    Input is simple:
    Action 1 - Jump (hold to jump higher)
    Action 2 - Plant a seed (cartwheel animation)

Assets Used (in this build):
    Core GameKit - for pooling and global variables
    Ultimate Bloom - for bloom and lens dirt
    Particle Playground - for particle effects

Plans:
    - Tighten up controls, eliminate any jerky movement
    - Replace and improve art assets
    - Greater variety of platforms (ten times those in the preview video, minimum)
    - Refine scoring system and track records for most whisps collected etc.
    - Release for PC & Mac

Dreams:
    - Themed levels with different environments, platforms and challenges
    - Story mode consisting of themed levels
    - Release for mobile devices

Undecided: