Search Unity

Does anyone have any experience with terrain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jvhkgames, Oct 30, 2014.

1. jvhkgames

jvhkgames

I'm pretty new with the Unity and C# and, after a couple weeks of prep, I decided to dive straight into an FPS. Because I'm still new and I'm not even that confident with Unity, I didn't - and still don't - want to spend any money. A couple of days later however, I hit one huge problem. Graphics. I understand that there's no chance that I'm going to be able to get anywhere near AAA graphics, but I would like my terrain to look half-decent. Does anyone know any good, free, (preferably open-source) terrain-creating programs? I've already messed about with Unity's default, but it doesn't seem to do the job; it uses two many draw-calls, and it's super buggy. Thanks!

2. N1warhead

N1warhead

Terrain naturally has quite a bit of draw calls.

You could easily use a Mesh made in a 3d program, but you're gonna have to program a shader for vertex painting (vertex colors).

But if you use the built in Unity terrain, unless it's changed. Try not to use more than 4 textures on each terrain, at least that's what I've always read, dealing with Splat-maps or something.

But go to the Asset store and look for a asset called World Builder. It's actually pretty decent and FREE!

But the other route, which is called World Machine (Google it)
    You can create virtually any terrain you can think of (without caves, etc). But it's free, only limitation I know of is exporting height maps for free version is 513 x 513, but it takes getting used too, it's node based creation. But it's the best free version out there (that I know of).

3. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator