Search Unity

Displaying tiles in a 2D tile-based sandbox game

Discussion in '2D' started by madks13, May 8, 2016.

1. madks13

madks13

Hello,

i'm not sure this is the right section of the forum for this. I went to the Getting started and Community Learning sections but it doesn't seem appropriate for this post.

First of all, i'm a beginner with Unity and 2D tile-base games. I watched videos such as https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLbghT7MmckI4qGA0Wm_TZS8LVrqS47I9R
    but there are some things i still do not understand.

Before that, let me explain a bit the project i'm working on :

- It is a 2D sandbox game with tile-based world.
    - The project was done with Torque previously and is being ported to Unity.
    - The player characters' dimensions are 3x1 tiles (height x width)
    - The creatures' dimensions are variable (from 1x1 to 4x3 tiles)
    - The world has different sizes (from 500 x 1500 to 1000 x 5000 tiles)
    - Resource tiles adapt to their surrounding tiles : if a dirt tile is on an edge with grass on it and i place something on top of it, the grass will disappear and the dirt tile will change to look like that something is really placed on top of the dirt tile.

Now for my questions :

1. If i use meshes to display many tiles in one object, how do i manage front and back tiles, along with all the tiems that can be dropped on the ground? Or even the creatures or the player that have animations?
    2. Given the size of the World, and that each mesh is limited to a number fo vertices, do i need to place as many meshes as needed to represent the whole world? Or do i only create one mesh the size of the player camera and move it around?