Search Unity

directional Specular baking issue

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by rubiez64, Aug 7, 2016.

1. rubiez64

rubiez64

hi guys,
    I'm new to the baking of unity and I stumbled up on this problem, where the specularity and normal of the surface gets distorted in a weird way(see images below).

I spent couple of days trying to solve it, but no help... even in forums...
    it has to do something with the metallic and smoothness values of the baking, because when i bring it down to 0, the problem goes away, however, I do need the shine of the metal.

anyone here can help me?

thank you in advance ^_^

2. francksitbon

francksitbon

Looks like something reflection.
    Try to disable reflection probe and see what happens

3. rubiez64

rubiez64

no reflection probes in the scene, all objects are static, and the lights are set to mixed... setting them to bake only, doesnt resolve the issue :(

4. francksitbon

francksitbon

try to disable all lights after baking and see what happens

5. rubiez64

rubiez64

nop... still the same...

I think you can reproduce this if you take a surface, and make it 0.5 smooth and 0.8 metallic, then bake directional specular with a point light, you will get this result

6. rubiez64

rubiez64

here's another scene, completely new, with two point lights after directional specular bake.

7. Deleted User

Deleted User

result2.JPG result.JPG Its not only you, It looks like the directional map is changing the surface normals of the object. my bake, was in a new Unity 5.4 project, with only unity assets(Cube and Quad mesh) all lights baked, and all meshes lightmap.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 9, 2016
    rubiez64 likes this.
  8. rubiez64

rubiez64

So... should we highlight this post? or pin it? or submit it as a bug report?
    how do we get the unity developer team notice it?

9. Deleted User

Deleted User

They usually read this forum, checking new posts, can try to ping @KEngelstoft