Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Default Blending Incorrect?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Jodon, Oct 26, 2013.

1. Jodon

Jodon

Hello,

I'm fairly new to shaders and am working on software that does a lot of image compositing. What I've noticed is that almost all default shaders use this blend mode:

Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha

This is fine for the vast majority of cases since DstAlpha (the alpha value that resides in the framebuffer) never appears in any equations. However, I'm working on a product that does need a proper DstAlpha value and I'm finding this equation has little utility, so I'm wondering why is it used everywhere?

The default equation equals SrcA*SrcA + DstA(1 - SrcA) which causes overlapping alpha to combine to a color that is MORE transparent. Is there a reason for this?

Here's my example, blending colors with half-opacity:

Backbuffer contains black, zero alpha. Apply Red at half opacity then Green at half opacity using RGBA:

Apply (1,0,0,0.5), (0,0,0,0) => (0.5,0,0,0.25)
    Apply (0,1,0,0.5), (0.5,0,0,0.25) => (0.25, 0.5, 0, 0.375) ... notice the 0.375 is more transparent than any of the inputs?

Notice how alpha is now at 0.375? It's because SrcAlpha is getting multiplied by itself during the blend equation. Using the linear blend a + d(1-a) seems to make more sense.

Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha, One OneMinusSrcAlpha

Apply (1,0,0,0.5), (0,0,0,0) => (0.5,0,0,0.5)
    Apply (0,1,0,0.5), (0.5,0,0,0.5) => (0.25, 0.5, 0, 0.75)

This appears to be correct. So my question is ... why isn't this equation used?

Cheers.

2. MikeEnoch

MikeEnoch

Sorry to bring up this old thread, found it while searching for a related shader problem and thought it deserved some kind of reply in case other people drop by...