Search Unity

(SOLVED) DAW

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by neginfinity, May 28, 2016.

1. neginfinity

neginfinity

Looking for inexpensive DAW.

Details:
    • Intended use: Dark ambient/instrumental music.
    • Should be able to plug my full-range MIDI synthesizer in.
    • Large instrument collection out of the box.
    • Said large collection shouldn't only consist of drum machines. Need keyboard instruments and classic orchestra.
    Target genre samples:

Advice?

Basically, I'm looking for musical equivalent of Clip Studio Paint.

2. Ony

Ony

What are you using now? I've been using FL Studio (Windows) since 1997 (used to be FruityLoops) and it does the trick. It has its ups and downs (like any DAW) but ultimately you figure out how it works for you and go from there. Genre-wise, that's up to you, and FL Studio can handle it. I've worked on releases in all kinds of genres from 'dark trip-hoppish industrial' to 'bubbly synth pop' to 'rock' and back again. It also works great with the MIDI controllers I use.

It comes with a bunch of instruments but for full glorious orchestral you'll want to look into third party VSTs and sample sets.

So there's one recommendation. There are a ton of DAWs out there so since I'm most familiar with FL Studio I'll leave it at that. I'm sure someone else will have some other suggestions. I've got friends who use Abeleton Live and that looks pretty cool, too.

Last edited: May 28, 2016
  3. KnightsHouseGames

KnightsHouseGames

What is your budget and OS?

This is one of the only things left that isn't totally cross platform and Adobe-ized yet.

I'm assuming you are asking this because you have already eliminated Pro Tools for one reason or another, given that thats like the industry standard DAW, and therefore expensive.