Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating and snapping to a grid?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by astralislux, Aug 27, 2014.

1. astralislux

astralislux

I'm trying to create an in-game grid so the player can position objects. I'm new to Unity and C# programming, but I'm familiar with programming.

I've been looking at some grid examples and I've found several links to the following code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. Vector3 currentPos = transform.position;
    2. transform.position = Vector3( Mathf.Round( currentPos.x / gridSize.x ),
    3.     Mathf.Round( currentPos.y / gridSize.y ),
    4.     Mathf.Round( currentPos.z / gridSize.z ) );    
    How would I implement this as a method to create a grid?

For example, I have the player carrying an object. As the player selects a position to drop an object, I want the object to snap to the grid, then when it's dropped (or mouse-clicked) it positions on a grid point -- that's the concept, at least.

I've been looking for a tutorial how to do this, but every answer I've found simply posts the code above, presuming everyone would know how to implement it.

Below is my grid where I apply it to a plane prefab, if this is of any help:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class Grid : MonoBehaviour {
    3.     public GameObject plane;
    4.     public int width = 10;
    5.     public int height = 10;
    7.     private GameObject [,] grid = new GameObject[100,100];
    9.     void Awake()
    10.     {
    11.         for (int x = 0; x < width; x++) //width
    12.         {
    13.             for (int z = 0; z < height; z++) //rows/height
    14.             {
    15.                 GameObject gridPlane = (GameObject)Instantiate(plane);
    16.                 gridPlane.transform.position = new Vector3(gridPlane.transform.position.x + x,