Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Connecting the LEGO EV3 Bot as gamecontroller

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by BigPapie, Oct 28, 2014.

1. BigPapie

BigPapie

Hi,

I'm new to Unity. For a school project we need to make a game that that you need to control with a LEGO EV3 Robot.
    I've got the code to connect and use the EV3 as a controller. But the problem is that I've got a Parsing error that I don't understand:

PlayerControl.cs(5,14): error CS8025: Parsing Error

Our teachers don't work with Unity and nobody on school is able to help me since nobody used Unity. Therefore I'm here to ask you the more experienced/ pro's for help.

EDIT:
    Code cleanup after replys

Code (CSharp):
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using System.Collections;
    4. using EV3MessengerLib;
    6. // EV3: Create an EV3Messenger object which you can use to talk to the EV3.
    8. //EV3Messenger ev3Messenger = new EV3Messenger();
    10. // EV3: Connect to the EV3 serial port over Bluetooth.
    11. //      If the program 'hangs' on a call to ev3Messenger.Connect,
    12. //      then your EV3 is not paired with your PC yet/anymore.
    13. //      To pair: Remove the EV3 from the Windows Bluetooth device list and add it again.
    14.  // Hardcoded serial port: put the serial port
    15. // of the Bluetooth connection to your EV3 here!
    16. public class PlayerControl : MonoBehaviour {
    17.  public GameControlScript control;
    18.  CharacterController controller;
    19.  bool isGrounded= false;
    20.  public float speed = 6.0f;
    21.  public float jumpSpeed = 8.0f;
    22.  public float gravity = 20.0f;
    23.  private Vector3 moveDirection = Vector3.zero;
    24. // EV3: The EV3Messenger is used to communicate with the Lego EV3
    25. private EV3Messenger ev3Messenger;
    26.  //start
    27.  void Start () {