Search Unity

Condensing the amount of Code used for CompareTo Functions

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TheFunkMonk, Jul 22, 2016.

1. TheFunkMonk

TheFunkMonk

Hi all,

I have been trying to get my head around List.Sort () function and I've run into an issue with the amount of code required to do all the sorting. I'm not a total beginner to unity but i don't do much posting on here so i hope you'll bear with me while i explain. I have created a class called character that looks like this:

Code (csharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    5. [System.Serializable]
    6. public class Character
    7. {
    8.      public enum Race {Human = 0, Elf, Dwarf, Gnome};
    9.      public enum Role {Warrior = 0, Wizard, Priest, Ranger, Rouge, Bard};
    11.      public string name;
    12.      public int level;
    13.      public Race race;
    14.      public Role role;
    16.      public Character ()
    17.      {
    18.          name = "DEFAULT NAME";
    19.          level = 1;
    20.          race = Race.Human;
    21.          role = Role.Warrior;
    22.      }
    23.      public Character (string newName, int startLevel, Race newRace, Role newRole)
    24.      {
    25.          name = newName;
    26.          level = startLevel;
    27.          race = newRace;
    28.          role = newRole;
    29.      }
    30. }
    I have a another function in a separate 'Manage' type script that uses the second constructor (above) to generate several random characters and add them to a list. I then wanted to be able to sort that list using any of a series of the variable in the class 'Character'. For example, if i sort by 'level' i want all Characters of the same level to be sorted again by 'Race' and then again by 'Class' if needed. I have done this in the Manager script by using the following function:

Code (csharp):
    1. public int SortByLevel (Character subject, Character other)