Search Unity

Complete novice, probably wanting to do something overly complex...

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by ecutruin, Jan 26, 2016.

1. ecutruin

ecutruin

Hey guys,

I'm attempting to achieve a layered ground effect similar to the game Don't Starve's Turf system. I have a conceptual idea that I think will work, but I'm not quite sure how to implement it as I've never written a shader in my life.

Essentially I want to provide a set of textures, which represent the terrain type atlases, and then use an additional texture as a map which tells the shader which tile to draw from which atlas in which order.

This map would use alpha to determine the order and the color to determine the tile. The resulting texture would then be drawn to the quad (one large quad representing the entire area the player is in).

Example of a terrain atlas:

I want to be able to have multiple instances of these and have them just draw over each other, in order. There should also be a base atlas that is drawn first as the background as well.

Not asking someone to write the code for me, but as a novice in shader development, I am looking for some insight into learning what I would need to learn to make this happen.

Thanks,
    Ecu

Attached Files:

2. Teravisor

Teravisor

First you should look at how Unity default terrain shader works. That's close to what you just proposed(it doesn't have texture with data, but it doesn't matter) It's much simpler, works with just 4 (+4 for each additional pass) textures and blends them when needed. You proposed essentially same, but instead of using vertex data directly pack all textures into one and pack vertex uvs into texture.