Search Unity

Color based on height

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by RiokuTheSlayer, Mar 5, 2015.

1. RiokuTheSlayer

RiokuTheSlayer

Hey, all. Shader noob here. I have a quick question.

I'd like a shader that has 5 arguments. A texture, a "low tint" color, and a "high tint" color, and a value for the low and high limits of the tint.

Then, I want to have the shader use the material as normal, with normal lighting and shadows, but I want it to change color based on the world Y position. The closer it is to the "upper limit" value in y position, the closer the color tint is to the high tint color. The closer to the "lower limit" value, the closer the tint will be to the "Low tint" color.

I know shaders are able to get the world position, but I myself have never scripted shaders, and I don't know how you would specify the colors and apply them to the object based on the height.

If anyone could throw me a shader that has this, and/or shoot me a tutorial on shaders, it'd be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance -Rio

2. alti

alti

in shadergraph use absolute world "position" node.

connect to split. A split node gives you the channels within a variable. In this case RGB stands for XYZ.

apply G from split to subtract node since you want the world height, and then make a "float" variable for the b slot of the subtract node to offset the Y limit. This "offsetY" variable will drag your entire calculation up or down. Very handy!

Now lets control the gradient:
    Make a "float" variable for the height, and another "float" variable for the spread (how sharp the gradient is), and plug those in to a multiply node. optionally you can clamp this result to ensure you're not about to divide by zero...

Connect the subtract and multiply nodes into a divide node, where subtract goes into the A slot.
    Personally, I'd clamp the result between 0 and 1, this way the results arent too intense / funky.