Search Unity

Code organization - inheritance / components based / interfaces - requesting opinions

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by honprovet, Feb 27, 2015.

1. honprovet

honprovet

Hello dear forumers,

I've been a silent reader of these forums for a while now, and i'm much thankfull for all the support that I got from them.

Now, I'd like to ask you a question. Here's the panorama:

• I'm about to start a new project. Simply put, its an RTS.
    • I'm not an experienced programmer, nor am I a professional (duh) or a student. I do it for the boner of getting stuff to work properly. So I might be saying a lot of stupid stuff.
    • I'm also not a kid, even though i wish i was.
    Here's the dilema:

• I've been struggling with finding a way to organize my code.
    • I read about full inheritance, full component based, a mix of both, interfaces and a mix of all.
    • I love the idea of virtual methods.
    • I don't get what would be the benefit of interfaces in my scenario.
    • I'm prone to go by using a simple inheritance system and mostly component based coding. The example below shows what I mean (it's just an example, not the full stuff).
    Apresentação1.jpg

And, without further ado, here are the questions:

1. What's your opinion on this aproach? Any sugestions?
    2. Can you please enlighten me on a good reason to add interfaces to this scenario? Simple examples are most apreciated. How is that diferent from turning the (2) Classes into abstract Classes? How is that better than wasting the super hot virtual methods that have basic functionality?
    3. What would be a good way to go for the comunication between components? Let's say the Truck wants to use RangedAtt to reduce Player's Health. I thought of theses options:
      1. RangedAtt knows the Player GameObject (say we need to right click it to start attacking, then it gets a reference to the GameObject), therefore it could: