Search Unity

Clash of clans style of multiplayer.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Valon, Feb 17, 2015.

1. Valon

Valon

Hi,

I know there is already a couple of thread about it but I can't figure it out because I am a very big noob at network coding but I would like to learn and the clash of clans model is very interesting to me.

Basically for those who don't know, in clash of clans you play on your own (I don't care much for general chat and joining a clan right now) with your base like a singleplayer game which means you can't wander around you just have the map with your base and that's it. But then you can attack another player base if the player owning it is disconnected.

When you attack all of his base will be here with the defenses and stuff but not his army. Then you can drop your troops where you want and the goal is to destroy as much of his base as possible.

So it's basically never 1v1, the guy you attack has no control about it, his base is just as he left it, the only one with control is the player on the offense.

I would really like to know some tips on how to start doing that, like how can I save a full base and show it to the other player? Right now I'd like to do it maybe for only a two players game.

I really have no clue about it. Also is it possible using Unity Free and free assets?

Thank you very much.

2. jpthek9

jpthek9

The models seem easy enough to make and the AI won't be too hard. The main thing is you need a deterministic simulation for replays (if you place the same units at the same places at the same times, you'll get the same results). For multiplayer, it's not real-time. You just need to download the map from a server (where you store everyone's information). Grid building is pretty straightforward. There're a bunch of tutorials on it.