Search Unity

Choice of scripting language

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by godstroke, Nov 17, 2009.

1. godstroke

godstroke

Hi,

I am a long time flash developer since version 4, I've just decided to start learning unity3d. Been reading many articles on unity but I am not quite sure about scripting.

Here are my questions:

1) Are all supported languages interpreted?
    2) Programming language does not matter, which is the most extensive and fast on runtime?
    3) Which language has best practices and has most tutorials written with?

Thanks.

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

1) No language is interpreted, all are compiled to .NET assemblies. Actually the term "scripting" in relation to unity is very missleading as you are actually programming

2) The most complete one is without a question C#, followed by boo and JS

3) Unity Tutorials: Clearly JS as it is the only one mentioned in the documentation right now
    Generally: C# by far as it is the only large used standard language.

3. godstroke

godstroke

Thanks.

Than, my choice is C#. I know it's a good programming language.

more questions:

1) Is all coding done in unity3d's IDE?
    2) Is it good? With syntax highlighting , intellisense/autocompletion.. etc.
    3) I heard windows version of unity has visual studio support, whats available for mac?
    4) Code writing in flash is piece of crap, its like writing code on notepad. I'am using 3rd party IDE "Flashdevelop" to code. Is there any need for any 3rd party program for unity3d? If so, which are your suggestions?

4. tonyd

tonyd

If you already know actionscript, Unity's javascript is probably the most similar, and will require a lot less typing than c#.

You can also mix and match scripts, so if you do need something that isn't supported in javascript, you can write a function/class in c# and use it with your javascript code.

5. Dreamora

Dreamora

1) its done in whatever you want :)
    I personally use the ones provided by Unity.